I just watched the Golden Globes, which has historically been my favorite of all the self-congratulatory, statuette-bestowing, Tom Ford worshipping pretty people festivals. Don’t get me wrong. I love them. And the Golden Gloves is the best. Well, usually the best. This one was, well, rough to watch.

It started with a pre-show that was laser focused on presenting the Golden Globes as the “fun” show. It was like the frat boys in college trying to get you to rush their house because they have the most bitchin’ parties. Or like CNN’s New Year’s Eve show from New Orleans where literally all the anchors were drunk off their tush. I get it. The fact that everyone is drinking makes the show a bit more fun and unpredictable. But good God, the last thing I want to hear is Al Roker asking a lithe young woman who made her dress and how drunk she’s going to get that night. Just…no. The fastest way to turn the cool party into a lame party is for your parents to give their seal of approval and market how cool it is. And that’s kind of what NBC did.

Then, Jimmy Fallon. Where to begin… I think Jimmy Fallon is legitimately funny and likeable. But the pre-show set him up poorly by selling the heck out of a show-opening musical number that didn’t deliver. The funniest part was a guy pretending to be dead in a limousine. And when Fallon finally took the stage with a broken teleprompter, he wasn’t able to roll with the punches. He couldn’t even come up with a Mariah Carey joke, for heaven’s sake. For the rest of the night, none of his jokes landed. It’s going to take us as a society a while to collectively recover from the “Redmayne, Chastain” rap. However, he seemed to sense utter collapse and scuttled off stage as quickly as possible.

But there were truly great moments. Meryl Streep is a savage, talented and beautiful human, well deserving of the lifetime achievement award. Her pronouncements on empathy and journalism resonated with millions who are searching for a way through this moment of national horror. Speaking of horror, Sarah Paulson was the anti-Goldie Hawn. I just don’t get the dumb blonde schtick. Why are we still laughing at jokes that portray women and minorities as stupid? Sophia Vergara, anyone? Thank heavens for Meryl and Sarah, who gave concise and eloquent speeches that brook zero jackassery.

And, of course, Steve Carell and Kristen Wiig stole the show with their depressing one-upmanship in announcing the animation nominees. They provided much-needed laughter in a show that had lost its footing.

Enough about the Globes, here’s what I’m looking forward to on the telly this week:

  • Ninja Crey is watching “Troll Hunter” on Netflix. I even enjoy it, and I find most of his tv selections abominable.
  • I need to catch up on “Sherlock” (PBS) since I missed Sunday’s episode for the Golden Globes. I am hopeful the ground laid in the first episode of the season will lay the groundwork for more fertile fodder in the future.(That’s my very positive way of saying the first one just didn’t do it for me.)
  • I’m addicted to “The Secrets of Great British Castles” on Netflix. Historian Dan Jones is super nerdy and fantastic as he tells the stories behind Britain’s most iconic structures. I love the people side of history, and he does a good job of looking beyond who won what battle to seeing the people who lived and died in the featured castles. Though, I am a bit concerned that he’s wearing the same outfit in each episode. While I like his chosen style,  I still want to knit him a sweater in case he needs another shirt.
  • “The Good Place” is coming back after hiatus. This quirky comedy sucked me in with its irreverence and Ted Danson. I’ll watching anything with Ted Danson.

 

 

